Mr Toast on Parade

December 19, 2007

Mr Toast on Parade

Dan Goodsell and the World of Mr Toast.

Dan Goodsell, an artist from Los Angeles, is the creator of the World of Mr Toast. He’s got a new book out, called PARADE, which showcases a lot of his creative work. It is 64 full color pages of art, comics, photos and all sorts of Mr Toast fun. Recently, I had a chance to chat with Dan and ask him some questions.

Old Man Musings: First off, how can people get a copy of your new book?
Dan Goodsell: You can order it from me on my website, www.MisterToast.com or though my Etsy store where you can also buy my art. It should be in some specialty stores like Gallery Nucleus in Alhambra.

What prompted you to create this book?
This book is a compilation of work that I have done over the past year. In it are comics, photos and paintings. I wanted a book that really showed all the things that I do.

What other books/comics have you written?
Mr Toast at the Circus was my first, then Imaginary World Comics #1, the limited edition Gags and then the 2 mini comics GAGS and the World of Mr Toast. I tend to jump around and do different sizes and forms.

What other projects are you currently involved in?
I am thinking about making a small PVC of Mr Toast and maybe all the characters. I am working on a design and I am going to find out the cost. If I can afford it, I would really like to do it. Also getting ready for my painting show in May at the Nick Cartoon Studios.

How do you come up with the ideas for your paintings?
I work a lot in a sketch book and that is where my ideas are worked out. I am always looking at the world and waiting for a spark that can be used to create a comic or painting.

What inspires you to paint and how do you keep motivated?
My main motivating factor is that for once in my life I know exactly what I want to do with my life. I have been working in the arts since I was in college but just in the last couple years did I have a real clear idea of what I want to accomplish. Also all my work on the World of Mr Toast is fun, I never say to myself, “Gosh I am tired of working on this.” The ideas keep on flowing and I keep moving forward.

What artists have influenced you, and how?
My childhood heroes were Dick Bruna (Miffy books), Ed Emberley (Drawing books) and Bill Peet. Dick Bruna gave me my love of line. Ed Emberley taught me about the creation of worlds and populating them. Bill Peet taught about story and context. I didn’t know I was learning these things when I read their books as a kid but looking back as adult these are the things I strive to accomplish in my work.

What other interests do you have (besides painting)?
I am a big basketball fan and I have a dog who is my full time pal. I am also into collecting old kids food stuff…

What do your friends and family think of your art?
My wife and family are hugely supportive. My late grandfather was a watercolor painter and he gave me a few watercolor lessons. Also as a kid we did many projects together. These things gave me an approach to working on my art that I still use.

What advice would you give to an artist just starting out?
Take your time and develop. Hopefully at some point in your life you will look back and see how it all fits together. Each little thing in life is part of the big puzzle and it will all work into your art.

What do you do for fun?
I get up at 5 AM and go to the flea market on weekends. It is always an adventure and I get to hang out with my best friend, Steve.

What type of music do you listen to?
I listen to a lot of different things including alternative, electronic and punk.

Who’s your favorite band or musician?
I have been listening to a lot of Harry Nilsson. I grew up on it and just got back into it recently. His album “The Point” is another big influence on my as an artist.

What’s your favorite food?
I love cookies and cakes and all manner of baked goods.

And finally, what’s your favorite toy and video game?
I am a big fan of the Uglydolls. Animal Crossing might be the greatest game ever created for kids and adults, the first time I was out fishing in the rain and caught a Coelacanth was quite a special moment for me.

More Dan Goodsell:
http://www.theimaginaryworld.com
http://mistertoast.blogspot.com
Here at OldManMusings

Leave a Reply

