Living with Endometrial Cancer

February 23, 2008

Living with Endometrial Cancer

This section is a place to share stories about Living with Endometrial Cancer.

Below are entries of those who have already shared their stories. We hope that you find their experiences helpful to your own situation.

You may also Help others by sharing your story.

To quickly access health information from your website’s browser, download
Healthcommunities.com’s healthchannels toolbar.
Stage III C


by: ARH on Sat, Jul 28 2007 I was diagnosed with Adinocarcinoma [Adenocarcinoma] of the Endometrium Stage IIIC (T3 N1 M0) in August 2003. The cancer had spread to the left ovary, the cervix, and the para-aortic lymph nodes. After a complete hysterectomy, I went through external and internal radiation and chemotherapy. My doctors told me all about side effects from the treatment but did not mention there would be so many after effects. I have had chronic diarrhea since the very first radiation treatment. My feet began tingling and burning with the first chemo treatment. I am in constant pain and my doctors cannot find a source for the pain. The problems became so chronic and so disruptive to my life that I had to file for disability last year. Every day is a struggle as I deal with the pain, the diarrhea, the neuropathy, the lymphedema, etc.

Since August 2003, I have seen 65 doctors for various problems and have had 13 surgeries. My social life revolves around medical appointments. The doctors told me that my cancer was very aggressive and that I was at a high risk of having a recurrence. This was the reason for the aggressive treatment. I was enrolled in a clinical trial and took Cisplatin, Adriamycin, and Taxol. My neurologist told me Taxol was one of the most toxic drugs you can put in your body, and she suspects it is the source of most of my problems. I firmly believe that what cures you can also kill you. Cancer has robbed me of having a normal life, ended my teaching career, and wears on my mental state (I see a psychiatrist and therapist for depression and post traumatic stress). I am not afraid of cancer anymore – I think I am afraid of not having it because it has ruled my life for so long.

Leave a Reply

