Founder and CEO of Young Rembrandts

May 7, 2008

Bette Fetter

BETTE FETTER
Founder and CEO of Young Rembrandts

When I was a child, art museums were not available to me as they were not a priority for my family. My first visit to an art museum wasn’t until I was in high school – an art teacher took our class on a field trip to a museum and I was soon-after hooked. At the same time, I became good friends with a girl whose family often went to museums and I always looked for the chance to tag along on their regular visits. Seeing the paintings in person, the textures and brushstrokes on the canvas, brought me closer to the artists. I became friends with artists I never met – from Van Gogh to Mary Cassatt. These visits opened my eyes to the inspiration of visual art and expanded my interest in arts education.

The joy of visiting art museums has stayed with me and continues to be something I enjoy today. This opened up a whole new world for me in the valuing and appreciation for art in and of itself. With an expanded awareness of all that is out there, I have yearned for more inspiration and ideas as I visit art museums. I joined a welcoming community that I didn’t know existed but longed for as I grew up. Additionally, this has contributed to my creativity and love for the visual arts, and has continued to help me thrive throughout life.

Bette Fetter is the founder and CEO of Young Rembrandts, the international art program for children. She began her career as a professional artist with a bachelor’s degree from Northern Illinois University, yet it was her fascination with child development, especially as it related to the visual arts, which led Bette into the field of arts education. In 2000, Bette and her husband, Bill Fetter, franchised Young Rembrandts Inc.

Ms. Fetter is also a member of the Women President’s Organization, an elite organization for women whose businesses gross more than $2 million annually. The group works to improve business conditions and promote acceptance and advancement of women entrepreneurs in all industries.

Leave a Reply

