illustration – landscapes

June 3, 2008

A Valentines Day Commission

This was a recent fun project commissioned by a young woman for her fiance (who I happen to know!) as a Valentine’s day gift.  Don’t worry, I’m not ruining the surprise, she couldn’t wait until V-day to give it to him

A Valentine's Day Commission

I couldn’t get very good pics of the colors with my camera. The original is 8″x10″ acrylic on a deep edge canvas. Here’s a close up:

A Valentine's Day Commission

My client, Liz, wanted something that would be meaningful for the both of them.  She mentioned a recent trip they had taken to the Grand Canyon, and sent me some pics.  She also told me which paintings of mine she liked, this really helped me in determining what direction to take for this painting.

Here are some of the digital sketches/color studies I did for Liz before moving on to the final painting:

color study/ digital sketch Color study/Digital sketch

Color study/Digital sketch

Leave a Reply

